10 comments on “Ever wonder why all pop music sounds the same these days?

  1. My friends and I have discussed this for years, but it’s awesome to see them compiled like that. We’ve noticed the same thing with R.O.C.K. In the U.S.A., What I Like About You and a few others which use the same chords. A friend of mine who plays guitar used to string them together for fun.

    One of my favorite music instructors used to say “The best composer is the best thief”

  2. Mike: The quote is, “Good artists borrow, great artists steal”, which I’ve seen credited to several people, but I like to think came from Pablo Picasso.

    I once did a sequence of “Oh, Stick you, your mamma too and your Daddy” by Daphne and Celeste mashed with “Enter Sandman”, by Metallica. Like a glove.

  3. There are only a limited number of ways you can do a chord progression and make it still sound like pop or rock. The standard rock progression is the I-IV-V progression like C-F-G sometimes they add the VI A-minor. You can do it in different keys but if you move around the progressions then it does not sound like a rock song. If you do a I-IV-V7 in which you make the last chord G7th then you get the blues. A jazz progression would be II-V-I or D-minor-G-C, more complex jazz uses 7th and 9th chords. The term rock came from the rocking back and forth between two chords like C and G. Which is a standard 50s progression. So if you play different chord progressions then you end up with different styles of music.

  4. Pingback: mental_floss Blog » The Weekend Links

  5. Pingback: Random Cool Video: So I WASN’T Wrong Thinking All Pop Music Sounds Basically the Same! | Gear Diary

Leave a comment