A formal act of defection

I’ve written before about my strong desire to seek official excommunication from the Catholic church. The Pope’s pronouncement yesterday, that condoms are the cause of HIV AIDS, was the straw that broke the camel’s back.

After watching an interview on Channel 4 television yesterday, in which a spokesperson for a Catholic relief charity screamed her way from one factual falsehood to another—literally condoning the teaching of lies to those most in need of the facts, I leapt to my feet and knocked on the door of my local parish priest.

Perhaps it was better for both of us that he was otherwise engaged. I doubt he wanted to hear about how his employers disdain for contraception, contradicts their financial investment in the companies who make them—much less did I want to hear yet more apologetics, on the moral imperative of prayer, while protecting pedophile priests is a “media exaggeration”.

Dr John Hunt, a nurse, is one of a growing number of people around the world who want their former involvement with faith groups to be struck from official records. [MORE]

Having given myself a good night’s sleep to calm down and thanks to magic of twitter, I now read the heart warming news that I am not alone, in my desire to have my name officially removed from the record as being baptised Catholic.

Roman Catholic canon law allows a process known as a “formal act of defection” from the faith. This means that a note will be made on a person’s baptismal record stating that they have left the church.

Stay tuned here and follow me on twitter, for updates on how my campaign goes, in seeking official conformation I am no longer a Catholic, from the diocese of Hexham and Newcastle.

14 comments on “A formal act of defection

  1. March 18, 2009, 4:14 PM: I have to write to Father Stott, at the Bishop’s House, in Newcastle, stating my reasons for no longer wanting to be a Catholic (should be a fairly concise list) and a formal act of defection will be entered into the public record.

  2. A friend of a friend in Valencia has been going through the process. Here in Spain it’s like trying to quit the CIA. They don’t get their claws out of you. You have to go through interviews and tests…on the bright side, the town of Rivas-Vaciamadrid, a dormitory city on the outskirts of Madrid, which has very left local government, recently announced that they would subsidize the costs for anyone in Rivas who wanted to apostate. Yeah, town!

  3. I’m in the same place, Jim. I have never formally done anything with the Church (mostly out of massive disinterest in the medieval machinations of the RCC) about the fact that I am not a Catholic, even though I registered at Jesuit University as an agnostic in 1962 and subsequently helped the priest who they sent out to “save” me into deciding to leave the Church, in revulsion to the papal bull on birth control. But, like you, this is the last straw. The Church has no right to make a big deal about of being “pro-life” then spreading death by teaching obvious and thoroughly contemptible lies, with the full force of their already discredited moral authority. I’ve run a syringe exchange program for twenty years. To see these sick-puppies in purple dresses preach nonsense that will certainly spread HIV where people are too poor to access medical treatment is beyond incomprehensible This crosses the line from willful ignorance to pure evil.

    I believe the cannon law remedy of a “formal act of defection” must be combined with the threat of litigation under civil law, to obtain the desired effect in a timely manner. This preposterously arrogant organization no longer has the temporal power to hold captives. “Make that 1.131 billion Roman Catholics MINUS ONE.”

    I will keep you updated on my research.

  4. Joeytranchina:
    Please keep me up to date on this, yes. If you’d prefer to keep details private you can contact me using the mail me link opposite, but if you don’t mind replying here and sharing for the public record, can you elaborate on what you mean by the threat of litigation, please? Are you saying that I will need to launch a civil case against the diocese to have the public record amended?

  5. I wish you all the best in your defection, it is the right and humane thing to do, that RCC organization has some of the worst moral values ever.

    I have one question though, this is the second time I see something like that in a comment and I’d like to know where I can find out more about this, you write:

    “… disdain for contraception, contradicts their financial investment in the companies who make them …”

    Is there really evidence for Vatican investments in companies that produce contraceptives? Where could I find more about this?

  6. Hugo, there is evidence yes. I shall leaf through my copy of In God’s Name, by David Yallop for the exact chapter, but in the meantime thoroughly recommend you buy a copy. It’s the book which kick-started my atheism after years of agnosticism. I may well do a whole blog entry on this point, because it’s something I’ve been meaning to pick up on for a while. Stay, as they say, tuned.

  7. hi, Jim. can you give me links or sources on the crimes of the RCC? I want to write it in my blog. Btw, im from a xtian country (Phil.). I’d like to blog the crimes/stupidities/absurdities of the RCC so that my countrymen would realize how blind they are. :D

    Good luck on you! i have read the whole letter and it was well written. I hope they would realize their stupidities.

  8. Pingback: Up until 1984 the Catholic Church drew profits from Luteolas, an oral contraceptive « How good is that?

Leave a Reply

