How to change your default e-mail address in Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard

Don’t look at me like that, I KNOW this should be a no-brainer. But I’ve just spent 30 minutes on the phone to Apple Care technical support, with a man paid to be confused about this sort of thing, as he flipped through pages and pages of “so your caller appears to have found something which is fundamentally broken with our OS” help-me files, so you can rest assured it’s not just me having a blond moment (even though I’m naturally brown haired). LOL, you said ‘having a blond’

The problem is to do with auto-fill – a feature of OS X which is another of those features that, when you first come across it, reminds you why you love Mac – but which you never bother to figure out how to use or adjust and so are completely in the dark about when it behaves unexpectedly.

Auto-fill remembers information like your postal address, mobile number and email address so that, when you fill in a form on, say, amazon.co.uk, all you have to do to automatically enter all your details is hold down Command + Shift + A and Safari will securely paste your info into the form fields for you.

The e-mail address part was the sticking point for me, because having recently done a complete erase re-install of Leopard, I was at a complete loss as to how OS X had managed to retain any of my personal information – when I was registering an install of Photoshop and the “click here” box already ‘knew’ my email address (which was actually incorrect).

I hunted high and low on every Mac help forum there is and no one seemed to have encountered the problem before – it was as if I was the only Mac user in the world who didn’t know how to change the default system wide e-mail address.

Here’s how it’s done..

Open Safari and open preferences.
Click ‘AutoFill’ and next to ‘Using info from my Address book card’, click ‘Edit’.
Your own V-card will open in Address book.
Change your details and quit Address book.

Sounds simple, right? And it is – and I feel really dumb for not knowing already how it’s done – but hey – it’s just reminder that even we hardened Mac heads sometimes need a refresher on the basics.

3 comments on “How to change your default e-mail address in Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard

  1. Dear Sir/Madam ,
    Good Day! I would like to apply through this medium for your co-operation and to secure an opportunity to invest and do joint business with you in your country.(Internet) has been greatly abused, I choose to reach you through it because it still remains the fastest, surest and most secured medium of communication
    I have substantial capital (i.e. US$5,000,000.00) I honourably intend to invest in your country in any very lucrative business venture of which you are to advise and execute the said venture over there for the mutual benefit of both of us. Do note that this fund is my personal inheritance from my late father who founded this company Bizgroup LTD which I work for. The fund was realised after the sharing of shares amonst the shareholders of the company, and I intend investing my share with your assistance in a viable and lucrative business venture.
    Your able co-operation is needed to become my business partner in your country and create ideas on how this money will be invested, and properly managed, after the money is transferred to your custody, with your assistance.
    Meanwhile, upon indication of your willingness to handle this transaction sincerely by protecting our interests, and upon your acceptance of this proposal, I will furnish you with the full detailed information, procedure involved and mutually agree on your percentage interest or share holding for helping me to secure the release of the deposit and investing the money.
    I shall be glad to receive your soonest response and hope to do some good business with you. I do urge you to give this matter the immediate attention it deserves. Do feel free to email me back for further clarifications.
    Do have a nice day and I look forward to read from you soon.

    Regards,
    Mr Joel Addo
    EMAIL ID joel_addo2000@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

