The bizarre nature of spam

This story…
https://howgoodisthat.wordpress.com/2008/03/26/will-someone-buy-me-one-of-these-cars-please/
…is one of the most popular on my whole blog.

It was posted a while ago and raised exactly ZERO interest at the time. Then, a couple of weeks ago, it started to climb the charts. Now it rivals the link bait babe pics in hits popularity, but still has zero comments – since all the ones which would be published are trapped before they arrive by the anti-spam mechanism of wordpress.

Taking a look inside the Akismet catch of spam the vast majority are the usual “neic post,i likey ou come read my boog at http://goatfuckers.net” and almost all of them are attached to the above article.

It’s winding me up a bit that such a non-article is able to screw up my stats, but I don’t know what to do about it. If I delete it, will that mean the spam bots will simply move on to another article on my blog? What if they hijack an article which is legitimately doing well and mess up the stats for that?

Some tips would be helpful. TIA

Leave a Reply

