Video Diary

Diary is one of those words I always want to spell ‘dairy’, by mistake. ANYWAY! Yes, folks. I’m keeping a video diary of me not having a smoke of any kind, for the first time since I was about 16.

I started on cigarettes because of cannabis joints. I think there’s an area of research in there somewhere, on how the gear gets on the back of the nicotine and convinces you that walking to the 24 hour garage at 4 in the morning for a 10 pack of Lambert and Butler is a good idea – but, thank the non-existent Lord, those days are far behind me.

Now, I know, there is a long and growing list of smokers who have those 2 or 3 day moments of clarity about what they’re doing to themselves who relapse when they have a beer, so given that Guinness is (contrary to the old adverts) actually really bad for you, I’m going to not drink through the week as much as I have done in the past either.

Summer lasts about 30 to 40 seconds up here in the North of England – so I intend to make the most of the not-as-freezing as normal conditions and get in shape.

Keep the notes of encouragement coming and stay tuned to my YouTube channel (also linked in the side-bar here). The more people I tell about it, the more people routing for me, the less chance there is I will want to let anyone down, when I invariably have the pangs – which is most likely to happen when I’m round my mate Fintan’s house, because he likes a smoke in the same way a dog enjoys licking it’s own bollocks.

One comment on “Video Diary

  1. Well, I don’t know if the video diary is helping you, sonny, but I don’t doubt it’s keeping other people on the straight and narrow. (You do look a bit peaked at the wake-up).Oh, a tip: a heaping filthy ashtray is good to remind you how disgusting it all is. Bleh. One whiff of that and you’ll be begging your mum to make you green tea and tofu.

Leave a Reply

